Learning from low water levels ?

Basic movements,control/tools, structure,weather/water, presentation lures, lake types, mapping, mental aspects
tahogg

Learning from low water levels ?

Post by tahogg »

I am very new to spoonplugging. A good friend Kenny Hyde took me for my first time last May, since then i have been hooked. I was one of thouse pretty color, trolling motor, but seat. casting at the bank guys hoping for a bite and not knowing why i caught a fish when i did.At this time i am in the prossess of reading the home study course for the first time. A thought enterd me head last night reading the lesson over structure, breaks , and breaklines. The lake i have been fishing Chickamauga lake in TN, has winter water levels that drops quite a bit from summer levels. I was wondering if i was to visit the lake at this time of year would i be able to learn valuable information as to the structure of the lake and breaks that may be on thouse structures leading to the deep waters. Any sugestions would be appriciated.
Steve Craig
JB2

Re: Learning from low water levels ?

Post by Steve Craig »

tahogg,
First welcome to the board and the world of Spoonplugging.

Yes, you should ride around your lake and "map" it at the low water levels. This is wisdom. You should draw a picture of each structure situation you find, noting breaklines, breaks, drop offs etc. You can actually move rocks etc into position(pile up a few if need be) or you can remove a bad hang situation if need be. Make sure you take your shoreline sightings for anchor positions, as well as rifle sightings for a trolling passes to hit a breakline. Doing all of this ahead of time will greatly speed up your learning curve. Once you got it on paper, you got it! Then when the lake refills, simply go out and work(fish) them.
Also, I believe there is a Spoonplugging Club in your area. Mr Hyde can help you with the whens and wheres. Join it! Get to know those guys.
Steve