New Member from Wisconsin

Introduce yourself to our online Spoonplugging community
Tumbleweed60

New Member from Wisconsin

Post by Tumbleweed60 »

Hi All,
New here from the Northern Kettle Moraine area of Southeastern Wisconsin. Very near the western Sheboygan and Eastern Fond du Lac county border. Been fishing on and off since I was a kid, 39 weeks away from semi-retirement and just acquired a 12 ft v hull bmt. Looking forward to receiving my green book and 5 pack of spoonplugs and getting started next spring. Hopefully even doing a little this fall. Been reading here and watching some videos, and will spend the winter getting educated and getting my gear together. The boat needs some tlc next spring, but I can still fish from it now. Hope you all don't mind some newbie questions cause I'm sure I'll have a lot to ask about.

Anyway, thanks in advance for the welcome!
MuskyAddict
200 series

Re: New Member from Wisconsin

Post by MuskyAddict »

Welcome Tumbleweed. I’m a newbie too. This is my first season trying to learn the skills and knowledge of a Spoonplugger. It’s basically been a colossal cluster but I’ve learned a lot and caught more fish this year than I have in a long time. I found this forum a great place to ask questions and learn from others questions. Keep studying and get on the water.

Ken
Ken Smith, Minnesota

"If you asked me what I thought was the most important thing we have to master in becoming a great fisherman, I'd have to say it is in our ability to "interpret" the fishing situation"
-Buck Perry
clayrussell

Post by clayrussell »

The Green book and 5-pack are good starts, but you also should order some 700's and 800's for the deeper water. For example, over in Madison on Lake Mendota, we often fish 28 feet to 32 feet. At those depths, some spoonpluggers use braided line, some use single strand wire with some form of leader.
MuskyAddict
200 series

Post by MuskyAddict »

Tumbleweed,