Line Selection

Basic movements,control/tools, structure,weather/water, presentation lures, lake types, mapping, mental aspects
Consigliere

Line Selection

Post by Consigliere »

I'm total newb to many things in spoonplugging but fishing line is something that I think I have tried most of what is out there.

I recently ordered wire and No-Bo from Buck's Baits as well as my first order of spoonplugs. They wire line there was easy to spool and has held up well to the first few snags and fish. No complaints at all. However, I also ordered some No-Bo line. I would have to say, compared to modern super braids, it is fairly stretchy and the diameter is fairly large in comparison to the same pound test in super braid. If you tell me to spool No-Bo and get rid of the super braids I will believe you, but given the differences between them I would say that the modern super braids are superior, especially if probing the depths is the goal. Any comments on this?

For wire, are there better/cheaper options? I like to fish for musky, and hopefully at some point one that is a trophy. Would anyone recommend something larger than 20lb wire for deep trolling or does the higher pound test wire outweigh the benefits of the 20lb for getting deeper? Would there be a concern of breaking off a 20lb wire with a very large fish on? Obviously, leaders and snaps/swivels need to be beefed up, I have those aspects covered no problem. Just curious about the wire itself since I am inexperienced with this type of line. I typically use a Shimano Tekota LC reel which has max drag less than 20lbs so the fundamental mechanics of breaking strength and fishing reels would say that line will peel before it will break. I think I may have just answered my own question.
John Bales
JB2

Re: Line Selection

Post by John Bales »