New to spoonplugging repost

navyangler

New to spoonplugging repost

Post by navyangler »

I am new to spoonplugging and I purchased the home study program reading it cover to cover 10 or more times. I have fished in small lakes and had good success using the concepts but those lakes only had one area of deep water and only a few structures. Now I am moving to a very large res Buggs Island/Kerr Lake on the NC/VA stateline. This lake has alot of area and alot of deep water. I am trying to break the lake into sections and start there. Posted is a pic of the creek on the northern side, upper end of the lake.

I have tried the long point, the 2 bridges, and the area on the upper right corner but makes trolling difficult with docks there and on the left of the pic. i am trying the area on the left side middle above the #13 next.

So, I have a lot to say but let's start with some more detail about the reservoir.

1. In the creek we are discussed, is this the deepest water? In this area yes the creek is 20-25ft in this area and that goes all the way out to the main channel which is 50ft. there is a section where this creek drops in the main channel that get a little deeper. The area I am fishing (pictured) has a bridge just out of the frame to the right and further down the channel to the bottom.

2. How far from the main river are we talking about? 3 miles of more

3. Discuss water color, breaklines, bottom make up. muddy to stained this time of year probably a 3 or 4 most of the time not very clear

4. Any current? no sometimes wind

5. I'm assuming a LM bass population? Please discuss what you know about the fish populations. very good for LM Bass, crappie, striper, cats there is a big shad forage base.

6. Can you post a much farther zoomed out picture of the area/lake as a frame of reference? I know there have been some people who have won tournaments from this area.
Attachments
Kerr.JPG
Kerr.JPG (68.56 KiB) Viewed 3739 times
Kerr 2.JPG