Renewed spoonplugger

Introduce yourself to our online Spoonplugging community
Bill
250 series

Renewed spoonplugger

Post by Bill »

Hi, I'm Bill from Ontario, Canada, now in S. Texas. I got a gift subscription to Fishing Facts when I was 17 ( about 1977) and then bought Buck's book and the study course. I have been rereading it all lately since discovering this site and having some time off. Back then and still as far as I know, from reading fishing forums, it was still the dark ages of fishing knowledge wherever I fished. I have never seen anyone with a sonar, or a lake contour map or any idea that you just had to "know" the places to fish and what color lure was best. I did meet one guy who had spoonplugs and read FF. Most people are only good at shallow water.

The first time I used spoonplugs I had a no-name trolling reel and NO-BO, with a rod I modified myself, which I still have and without comparing it to yours , It works well for me. I was in one of the Kawartha lakes trying the tackle out and I remember being instantly impressed how fast I had to go to get the 250 to wiggle. Most people fish far too slow. I was bumping bottom ok and then hit a snag. Since It was my first time trolling I hadn't set the star drag and quickly got in trouble. Finally released the free-spool and got a huge backlash, turned the boat and sat there for a while untangling. I had experience with baitcasters before. After I fixed everything up I resumed trolling and soon hit what I believe was a big musky, turned me in the seat and cut the motor but he shook off. Felt like a log swinging on the end of the line. Later I got a Penn reel.